top of page

Event

Mon, Sep 30

|

Brussel

Lecture Chouki El Hamel - The Making of Gnawa, a historical synthesis of black Morocco

Explore the depths of history during the literary evening and debate on Monday 30/9, from 7:30 PM to 9:00 PM at the ULB. Join Chouki el Hamel as he illuminates the history of Morocco in “The Making of Gnawa, a Historical Synthesis of Black Morocco.” An evening full of insight!

Lecture Chouki El Hamel - The Making of Gnawa, a historical synthesis of black Morocco
Lecture Chouki El Hamel - The Making of Gnawa, a historical synthesis of black Morocco

Time & Location

Sep 30, 2024, 4:00 PM – 6:30 PM

Brussel, Franklin Rooseveltlaan 50, 1050 Brussel, België

About the event

Chouki El Hamel is director of the Center for Maghrib Studies and a professor of history in the School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies at Arizona State University, specializing in West and Northwest Africa who is particularly interested in the subaltern relationship of servile and marginalized communities to Islamic ruling institutions. His research into these relationships revolves around issues of slavery, race/ethnicity/color, gender, power/class, and restorative justice. He published two books, among which Black Morocco: A History of Slavery, Race, and Islam (Cambridge University Press, 2013, translated into French in 2019). He recently published The Story Map: Race & Slavery, a website that provides an excellent entry to a wider public-facing debate about slavery and race in North Africa.


Gnawa are known to have created a hypnotic, rhythmic and beautiful music. This beautiful music brought Gnawa admirers from all over the world. But the people who represent this art didn’t lead an easy life. The story of the Gnawa people is deeply rooted in the history of a specific slave community. Gnawa, as late Randy Weston observed, is like hearing “the black church, jazz and the blues all at the same time.


Gnawa represents the diaspora of black West Africans in Morocco, the majority of whom were forcefully transported across the Sahara and sold in different parts of Morocco. The historical journey of the Gnawa in Morocco and their fascinating integration into the Moroccan social landscape, still retain a cultural and a social distinctiveness. The Gnawa as a spiritual and a musical group became a quasi-corporate community that absorbed and empowered all black participants from different ethnic backgrounds. The historical agency of this enslaved and marginalized group is clearly expressed in the lyrics of their songs. Hence, their songs expand the archive of black subjectivity. The very existence of Gnawa is a testimony of the lived experience of black Moroccans. The interest in Gnawa music can be attributed largely to Jazz Ambassadors like Randy Weston, an international appeal which led to the establishment of the Gnawa and World Music Festival in Essaouira in the end of the 1990’s.


Tickets 5,00€

Buy Ticket



Share this event

bottom of page

top of page

Événement

lun. 30 sept.

|

Bruxelles

Conférence Chouki El Hamel - La fabrique des Gnawa, une synthèse historique du Maroc noir

Explorez les profondeurs de l'histoire lors de la soirée littéraire et débat le lundi 30 septembre, de 19h30 à 21h00 à l'ULB. Rejoignez Chouki el Hamel alors qu'il éclaire l'histoire du Maroc dans « La fabrication des Gnawa, une synthèse historique du Maroc noir ». Une soirée pleine de perspicacité & elle sera donné en Anglais!

Conférence Chouki El Hamel - La fabrique des Gnawa, une synthèse historique du Maroc noir
Conférence Chouki El Hamel - La fabrique des Gnawa, une synthèse historique du Maroc noir

Time & Location

30 sept. 2024, 16:00 – 18:30

Bruxelles, Avenue Franklin Roosevelt 50, 1050 Bruxelles, Belgique

About the event

Chouki El Hamel est directeur du Centre d'études maghrébines et professeur d'histoire à la School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies de l'Arizona State University, spécialiste de l'Afrique de l'Ouest et du Nord-Ouest. Chercheur africaniste qui s'intéresse particulièrement à la relation subalterne des communautés serviles et marginalisées avec les institutions dirigeantes islamiques, il a suivi sa formation et ses études doctorales à l'université de la Sorbonne. Il a publié deux ouvrages, dont Black Morocco : A History of Slavery, Race, and Islam (Cambridge University Press, 2013). Ce livre a été traduit en français en 2019. Il a récemment publié The Story Map : Race & Slavery, un site web qui constitue une excellente entrée dans un débat public plus large sur l'esclavage et la race en Afrique du Nord.


Les Gnawa sont connus pour avoir donné naissance à une musique hypnotique, rythmique et magnifique, qui a attiré des admirateurs du monde entier. Mais le peuple qui porte cet art n'a pas eu une vie facile. L'histoire du peuple gnawa est profondément enracinée dans celle d'une communauté d'esclaves spécifique. Ecouter la musique gnawa, comme l'a fait remarquer Randy Weston, c'est comme entendre "l'église noire, le jazz et le blues en même temps


Les Gnawa représentent la diaspora des Africains de l'Ouest au Maroc, dont la majorité a été transportée de force à travers le Sahara et vendue dans différentes régions du Maroc. Le parcours historique des Gnawa au Maroc et leur intégration fascinante dans le paysage social marocain conservent une spécificité culturelle et sociale. Les Gnawa, en tant que groupe spirituel et musical, sont devenus une communauté quasi corporative qui a absorbé et responsabilisé tous les participants noirs de différentes origines ethniques. L'action historique de ce groupe asservi et marginalisé est clairement exprimée dans les paroles de ses chansons. Par conséquent, leurs chansons élargissent les archives de la subjectivité noire. L'existence même du gnawa est un témoignage de l'expérience vécue par les Marocains noirs. L'intérêt pour la musique gnawa peut être attribué en grande partie à des ambassadeurs du jazz comme Randy Weston, un attrait international qui a conduit à la création du Festival Gnaoua et Musiques du Monde à Essaouira à la fin des années 1990.


 Billets 5,00 €

 Cliquez ici pour réserver vos billets : Acheter un billet


Share this event

bottom of page